Handball: Our Target Is To Win 2022 Prudent League — FRSC Coach

Innocent Nwankwo, Coach of the Federal Road Safety Corps (Safety Shooters) male handball club, yesterday said the target of the team was to win the ongoing 2022 Prudent Energy Handball League.

Safety Shooters defeated Confluence Stars 30-17 in their fourth game at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja.

The coach said they would continue to fight to win all their games in the first and second phases of the league.

“We are happy that we won our fourth game and the secret of the victory is that we are focused.

“We will take every game one at a time; we will ensure that we do not underate any team and we must win all our games, “he said

Safety Shooters won their first game against Owena Kings; walked over Kada Stars of Kaduna in their second match and had the third game against Tojemarine Academy of Lagos at 30-27

Coach of the  Confluence Stars  Ayo Joshua, said his players played well even though they lost to a better side.

“Our boys played one of the best games in this competition today , they fought well in the beginning of the game but they relaxed toward the end of the match.

“Our team played with a very experienced team; we played four games, we lost two and won two, our target is to be among the first four at the end of the league,” he said.

Other matches played in the league’s male category yesterday, Rima Strikers beat Police Machine 31-22. Benue Buffaloes walked over Kada Stars.

Owena Kings lost to Tojemarine Academy 28-35,  while  De Defenders lost to Kano Pillars 17-30.

In another match played in the female category yesterday, Imo Grasshoppers lost to Seasiders Babes 23-24 and Safety  Babes walked over Kada Queens.

Rima Queens of Sokoto earned  a narrow win 31-29 over Benue Babes while  Defenders beat Plateau Peacocks 26-22.

A total of 22 teams, made up of 10 female and 12 male clubs are participating in the league.

The male teams include Benue Buffaloes of Markudi, Confluence Kings of Lokoja, De Defenders of Civil Defence, Kada Stars of Kaduna, Kano Pillars of Kano, Niger United of Minna and Owena Kings of Akure.

Police Machines, Rima Strikers of Sokoto, Safety Shooters of FRSC, Seasider Boys of Lagos and Tojemarine Academy of Lagos are also in contention.

The league, being played at two venues in the Moshood Abiola National Stadium in Abuja, began on Monday and is expected to end on June 2.

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply